Listen continuously on Mixcloud

Today on the Extra Extra Radio Show, our host and guide Michael is joined by a couple whose entire relationship – from start to finish – took place during a single weekend in their apartment. From first date, through cohabitation, marriage, and divorce, Will and Twyla, you now find yourselves in a place where you can enjoy a strong platonic friendship with each other, while each being with new partners. If I may, I’d like you to talk through each stage of your relationship. Let’s go back, way back, right to the start. When did you two first meet?

“If you don’t mind, let’s jump ahead a little in the relationship to Saturday morning. You are both at Will’s apartment. You’ve by this time built up a thick crust of sexual intimacy and woven a strong belt of trust between you. What feelings were you experiencing at this time?”

“It was a heavenly time in our lives, and I’ll always remember Saturday morning as a period of personal happiness that I’m grateful to have experienced, despite all else.”

The show is written and performed by Dan Fox and Michael Portnoy in close collaboration with Loes Verstappen who selected the music, and Monte Masi. Voice acting by Dan Fox, Michael Portnoy, Monte Masi, Thomas Dudkiewicz and Loveday Smith. Editing and sound design by Tobias Withers. Drawings by Fiona Lutjenhuis.

  • 01 Inventions - Piero Piccioni
  • 02 Abstract - Maria Teriaeva
  • 03 White Sugar - Black Dice
  • 04 No U Turn - Franco Battiato
  • 05 Feel Free: Section I - Duane Pitre
  • 06 Motor - Universal Liberation Orchestra
  • 07 Emerald Garden - David Shea
  • 08 Swimmer IV - John Foxx
  • 09 Meia Noite - Priscilla Ermel
  • 10 VIII - Francis Plagne
  • 11 Plastic Raincoat - Cindy Lee
  • 12 Yoshiwara / 吉原 - Meitei / 冥丁
  • 13 World That's Not Real - Gloria Ann Taylor
  • 14 A Melting Tree - Museum Of No Art
  • 15 Fur Korv - John McCowen
  • 16 Lillies - Félicia Atkinson
  • 17 Pelléas et Mélisande - Hoé! Hisse hoé! - Claude Debussy, Claudio Abbado, Wiener Philharmoniker
  • 18 Freedom Prayer - Universal Liberation Orchestra